Kaine Law

Se Habla Español

FREE Case Evaluation 877-884-8579
1441 Dunwoody Village Parkway, Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30338
630 Collins Hill Road, Lawrenceville, GA 30046
5600 North Henry Blvd., Stockbridge, GA 30281
1436 Dogwood Dr. SE, Conyers, GA 30013

A Simple Guide to Personal Injury Claims

Define High PriorityDo you know what a “personal injury claim” is?

Do you know how personal injury claims work?

Do you know where to start if you suffer a personal injury?

If you answer no, that’s ok because we’re here to help.

Many of us never want to be in a situation where we have to make a claim or file a lawsuit because we were injured due to someone’s negligence. However, if you have been injured, it’s important to contact a personal injury lawyer quickly as these types of cases can be time sensitive.

Personal Injury Claims in Georgia

Each state is different when it comes to making a personal injury claim; therefore it’s important to understand how Georgia personal injury claims work.

The first step in a personal injury claim is “knowing” what to do immediately following an injury. One misstep could make all the difference in your claim and the end result. Therefore, when you are injured be sure to:

  • Immediately attend to your injuries;
  • Contact a personal injury lawyer;
  • Document all injuries and any damage to property (get copies of accident reports, take pictures, keep receipts and invoices, keep notes of new symptoms, document time off from work, etc.);
  • Get information from witnesses (phone numbers, addresses, statements, etc.);
  • Don’t speak with the insurance company until you’ve spoken with a personal injury lawyer (neither your insurance company or theirs);
  • Never give a statement to anyone other than the police before speaking with a personal injury lawyer; and
  • Never sign a Release or other insurance document before speaking with a personal injury lawyer.

The next step has to do with time. As we stated, personal injury claims are different in every state.  All states have a statute of limitations.  The statute of limitations dictates how long a person has to file the claim with the court (after the injury). In some cases, the statute of limitations begins when the person is aware of the injury. For Georgia, the statute of limitations are as follows:

Georgia Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims

Type of Claim: Statute of Limitation:
Negligence (car accidents, slip and fall, toxic torts, etc.) 2 years
Assault or Battery 2 years
Defamation (libel and slander) 1 year
Strict Liability 2 years
Products Liability 2 years
Workplace Injury (worker’s compensation) 1 year
Wrongful Death 2 years (potentially 4 years)

This chart explains how long an individual has to make a personal injury claim in order to receive compensation for their injuries.  We sometimes speak with potential clients who weren’t aware of these time limits and who have let the time expire.  Unfortunately, under Georgia law, they are barred from presenting a claim and receiving compensation.

Again, time is of the essence so you shouldn’t delay contacting a personal injury lawyer.  Our team of personal injury experts has worked countless personal injury cases and helped individuals receive substantial compensation for their injuries.

If you’ve been injured in a car accident, workplace injury, or by any negligent party, contact our office for a free consultation.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


Peer Review Rated Martindale-Hubbell LexisNexis AVVO Rating 10 Million Dollar Advocates Forum Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum Georgia Trial Lawyers Assocation
Kaine Law, LLC
Super Lawyers
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
*submission does not form a
 lawyer/client relationship*