Kaine Law

Se Habla Español

FREE Case Evaluation 877-884-8579
1441 Dunwoody Village Parkway, Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30338
630 Collins Hill Road, Lawrenceville, GA 30046
5600 North Henry Blvd., Stockbridge, GA 30281
1436 Dogwood Dr. SE, Conyers, GA 30013

Car Accidents by Uninsured Drivers

After the initial shock wears off and you assess your injuries, the steps that you take after a car accident are critical. While we have provided tips and steps following a car accident, one “issue” or “problem” we haven’t discussed is when the at-fault driver is uninsured (i.e., doesn’t have car insurance). Everyone can agree that if / when you find out that the person at fault is uninsured, your stress and frustration reach a whole new level.

Uninsured Drivers in Georgia

According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), 12.6 motorists, or 1 in 8 drivers, were uninsured in 2012. Although the percentage has been declining in recent years, the issue is still prevalent in all fifty states. According to the III, Georgia ranks 26th with almost 12% of drivers driving without insurance. Therefore, what can you do if one of those drivers hits you? Can you do anything?

First and most importantly, we suggest that you know your rights under Georgia law! While you cannot control who hits you, or whether they have insurance or are uninsured, you can take steps to protect yourself.

Minimum Car Insurance Limits in Georgia

The good news is that Georgia has what is called Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage or Liability Coverage.  Liability coverage is the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage that pays for the victim’s personal injury and property damage after a car accident. Georgia law requires that every driver have and maintain liability insurance coverage. The minimum amount of bodily injury liability insurance that’s required is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Additionally, one must also have $25,000 of property damage insurance coverage.

Georgia UM Insurance Coverage

Unfortunately, some drivers ignore the law as is seen by the III’s report where slightly more than 1 in 10 Georgia drivers drive without proper insurance coverage. Therefore, we suggest that you (the one who is not at fault) purchase Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist coverage (UM). This type of insurance provides you with insurance coverage and compensates you for your damages if / when the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance. The coverage can also be used if you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident and cannot identify the driver.

Although Georgia has seen a decrease in uninsured drivers, it is important to know and understand the law. We encourage you to take a look at your insurance policies and speak to a knowledgeable representative before making a decision. If you have been hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver, or even the victim of a hit and run accident, it is important to seek legal representation.

At Kaine Law, we have worked with countless victims who have been hit / injured by uninsured drivers.  We have helped many of these victims receive compensation for their damages. Please call us today for your free consultation!


Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


Peer Review Rated Martindale-Hubbell LexisNexis AVVO Rating 10 Million Dollar Advocates Forum Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum Georgia Trial Lawyers Assocation
Kaine Law, LLC
Super Lawyers
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
*submission does not form a
 lawyer/client relationship*