Kaine Law

Se Habla Español

FREE Case Evaluation 877-884-8579
1441 Dunwoody Village Parkway, Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30338
630 Collins Hill Road, Lawrenceville, GA 30046
5600 North Henry Blvd., Stockbridge, GA 30281
1436 Dogwood Dr. SE, Conyers, GA 30013

Georgia Driver Responsibility Act — TADRA

Learn more about driver responsibility in Georgia

Understanding driving laws in Georgia is important to your safety and the safety of those around you. The Driver Responsibility Act is known in Georgia as TADRA (Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act). Like a number of other states, Georgia put TADRA into place to reduce the number of auto accidents throughout the state.

The law was designed to significantly change the way new drivers earn and maintain the privilege of driving. TADRA provides controlled environments for new drivers to gain experience. Though the law focuses on young drivers, it also includes provisions designed to affect drivers over the age of 21, particularly with regard to DUI prevention and regulation.

Unlike other teenage driving laws in Georgia, TADRA involves a three-step educational process that allows young drivers to slowly gain experience and confidence behind the wheel:

  1. An Instructional Permit is granted to 15-year-olds upon successfully passing a written examination. While a driver has this permit, he or she must be accompanied by a licensed passenger at least 21 years of age while driving.
  2. An Intermediate or Class D License is granted to drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 who have had an Instructional Permit for 12 months, have passed a driving test and completed a driver’s education course approved by the Department of Driver Services. Additionally, the driver must have completed at least 40 hours of other supervised driving experience, including at least six hours at night. While a driver has an Intermediate License, he or she cannot drive between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m.Drivers are also not permitted to have any passengers in their car, aside from their immediate family, for the first six months they are in possession of a Class D License. During the second six-month period of the Class D License period, a driver is not permitted to have more than one passenger in the vehicle, aside from immediate family members, under the age of 21. Finally, during the second year a driver has a Class D License, he or she cannot drive with more than three passengers, aside from immediate family members, who are less than 21 years of age.
  3. A Full License, or a Class C Driver's License, is granted to drivers 18 years of age or older who have a Georgia Class D License and have incurred no major traffic violations during the previous 12 months. A driver is not eligible to receive a Class C License if that driver is convicted of the following: DUI, evading a police officer, reckless driving, hit and run, drag racing or any other violation that leads to four or more points on the driver’s license.

Contact an experienced law firm in Atlanta, GA

TADRA has proven to be an effective program that has made Georgia roads a safer place for all drivers. If you or loved one is victimized by a driver in violation of TADRA, contact Kaine Law, LLC, Atlanta auto accident lawyers who are committed to the aggressive representation of accident victims. Call us at 877-884-8579. Hablamos español.

Everyone at Kaine Law, LLC — from our highly qualified lawyers to our dedicated staff — is ready to serve you. We realize that auto accidents can cause serious injuries that can affect every aspect of your life. If you are the victim of a car accident, we want to be your voice.

Peer Review Rated Martindale-Hubbell LexisNexis AVVO Rating 10 Million Dollar Advocates Forum Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum Georgia Trial Lawyers Assocation
Kaine Law, LLC
Super Lawyers
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
*submission does not form a
 lawyer/client relationship*